THE 5 TREASURES TO DISCOVER AFTER CONFINEMENT

# 4 The Matisse Chapel

ATHILIA · Thursday MAY 7, 2020 · ESTIMATED READING TIME: 5 MINUTES

We could have told you about the sublime chapels decorated by the artists Cocteau or Picasso .

At Athilie we offer you a unique chapel since it is a modern construction carried out from A to Z by the painter Henri Matisse . We decided to highlight 5 numbers on cult places to visit that combine art, architecture and people through photos, testimonies, videos too little known by the general public. Here is an invitation in the last work of Henri Matisse, his artistic testament: the Matisse Chapel in Vence in the Alpes-Maritimes (06).

La Chapelle du Rosaire ou Chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

The Rosary Chapel or Matisse Chapel, Vence (06)

CHAPEL AND MASTERPIECE OF HENRI MATISSE

 

The Rosary Chapel or Matisse Chapel is built in Vence located 20km from Nice between sea and mountains.

The Rosary Chapel will be born from the friendship between Henri Matisse and his nurse Monique Bourgeois, who will become her confidante and her model. In 1946, this young woman joined the orders of Saint Dominic and became Sister Jacques-Marie. Matisse thinks big and undertakes to offer a chapel to the Dominicans.

He fully designs the plans and each decorative element of the building (stained glass, ceramics, stalls, holy water fonts, objects of worship, ornaments, etc.). Supported by religious, advised by architects Auguste Perret and Milon de Peillon and solicits Venetian artisans. The foundation stone of the chapel is laid and blessed by Monseigneur Rémond, bishop of Nice, on December 11, 1949. On June 25, 1951 Monseigneur Rémond will inaugurate and bless the Chapel. Matisse, sick, was unable to attend this ceremony.

L'intérieur de la Chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

The interior of the Matisse Chapel, Vence (06)

« This work required four years of exclusive and diligent work, and it is the result of my entire working life. I consider it despite all its imperfections as my masterpiece. »

Henri MATISSE

La Chapelle du Rosaire ou Chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)-articles-la chapelle Matisse 4.j

The Rosary Chapel or Matisse Chapel, Vence (06)

MONIQUE AND MATISSE: A MEETING

 

In 1941, Matisse recovered from a serious operation, and on his return to his apartment in the Regina in Nice he hired Monique Bourgeois as a night nurse. She takes care of Matisse, reads it to him and shares a long discussion with him. Between them is established a friendly relationship marked by simplicity, frankness and humor. Matisse offers Monique Bourgeois to become a model for him, he will draw drawings and paintings including in particular L'Idole in December 1942, La Robe verte et les oranges in January 1943 and Tabac royal in March 1943.

The religious vocation of Monique Bourgeois asserts itself, she bids farewell to Matisse distraught by her decision. She entered the novitiate, took the Dominican habit and received the name of Sister Jacques-Marie. In Vence, the Dominican sisters had only a dilapidated old garage for a chapel. The sisters had plans to build a chapel. Sister Jacques-Marie draws a stained glass project representing the Assumption. She shows it to Matisse who encourages him to have this drawing made in stained glass.

The idea for the Matisse chapel was born.

Henri Matisse et Soeur Jacques-Marie

Henri Matisse and Sister Jacques-Marie

« I'm going to build your chapel and I'll take care of the stained glass! »

Henri MATISSE

L'autel et les vitraux de la chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

The altar and the stained glass windows of the Matisse chapel, Vence (06)

THE CHAPEL: FROM ARCHITECTURE TO DECORATION

 

The exterior of the chapel, both simple and discreet, fits perfectly into the sunny landscape of Vence. The Matisse chapel is recognizable by its white and blue tiled roof but also by its wrought iron cross thirteen meters high, bearing crescent moon and golden flames.

The interior of the chapel is extremely pure and the magic takes place. The light and colors come from the yellow, green and blue stained glass. These huge stained glass windows flood the whitewashed walls with light every day. Three large works made with black lines on white ceramics decorate the walls of the chapel. Only the reflection of the stained glass colors these three compositions: "Saint Dominic", "The Virgin and Child", and the "Way of the Cross".

Adjacent to the chapel is a gallery which presents a rich collection of preparatory drawings, as well as chasuble models specially designed by Matisse for the chapel.

La vierge et l'enfant, Henry Matisse

The Virgin and Child, Henri Matisse

«  I have always tried to hide my efforts, I always wanted my works to have the lightness and gaiety of spring which never lets suspect the work it cost. »

Henri MATISSE

Henri Matisse dans la chapelle, Vence (06)

Henri Matisse in the chapel, Vence (06)

At the end of confinement, meet in this sublime Matisse Chapel, 466 Avenue Henri Matisse, 06140 Vence . As a bonus, the Matisse museums in Nice and the Cateau-Cambrésis have rooms dedicated to preparatory drawings (stained glass, chasubles, frescoes, etc.) and models of the Rosary Chapel.

 

http://chapellematisse.com/

 

Thanks to the Matisse chapel , Vence , Matisse Museum in Nice , Matisse Museum in Cateau-Cambrésis

LES 5 TRÉSORS À DÉCOUVRIR APRÈS LE CONFINEMENT

#4 La Chapelle Matisse

ATHILIE · Jeudi 7 MAI 2020 · TEMPS DE LECTURE ESTIMÉ : 5 MINUTES

Nous aurions pu vous parler des sublimes chapelles décorées par les artistes Cocteau ou Picasso.

Chez Athilie nous vous proposons une chapelle unique puisque c’est une construction moderne réalisée de A à Z par le peintre Henri Matisse. Nous avons décidé de mettre en lumière 5 numéros sur des lieux cultes à visiter qui allient art, architecture et humain à travers des photos, des témoignages, des vidéos trop méconnues du grand public. Voici une invitation dans la dernière œuvre d’Henri Matisse, son testament artistique : la Chapelle Matisse à Vence dans les Alpes-Maritimes (06).

La Chapelle du Rosaire ou Chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

CHAPELLE ET CHEF D'ŒUVRE D'HENRI MATISSE 

La Chapelle du Rosaire ou Chapelle Matisse est construite à Vence situé à 20km de Nice entre mer et montagnes.

La Chapelle du Rosaire va naître de l’amitié entre Henri Matisse et son infirmière Monique Bourgeois, qui deviendra sa confidente et son modèle. En 1946, cette jeune femme entre dans les ordres de Saint Dominique et devient Sœur Jacques-Marie. Matisse voit grand et entreprend d’offrir une chapelle aux dominicaines.

Il conçoit intégralement les plans et chaque éléments de décoration de l’édifice (vitraux, céramiques, stalles, bénitiers, objets de culte, ornements…). Épaulé par des religieux, conseillé par des architectes Auguste Perret et Milon de Peillon et sollicite des artisans Vençois. La première pierre de la chapelle est posée et bénie par Monseigneur Rémond, évêque de Nice, le 11 décembre 1949. Le 25 juin 1951 Monseigneur Rémond va inaugurer et bénir la Chapelle. Matisse, malade n’a pu assister à cette cérémonie.

L'intérieur de la Chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

« Cette œuvre m’a demandé quatre ans d’un travail exclusif et assidu, et elle est le résultat de toute ma vie active. Je la considère malgré toute ses imperfections comme mon chef-d’œuvre . »

Henri MATISSE

La Chapelle du Rosaire ou Chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

MONIQUE ET MATISSE : UNE RENCONTRE

En 1941, Matisse se remet d’une grave opération, et à son retour dans son appartement du Regina à Nice il engage Monique Bourgeois comme infirmière de nuit. Elle prend soin de Matisse, lui fait la lecture et partage avec lui de longue discussion. Entre eux s’établit une relation amicale empreinte de simplicité, de franchise et d’humour. Matisse propose à Monique Bourgeois de devenir modèle pour lui, il réalisera des dessins et des peintures dont notamment L’Idole en décembre 1942, La Robe verte et les oranges en janvier 1943 et Tabac royal en mars 1943.

La vocation religieuse de Monique Bourgeois s’affirme, elle fait ses adieux à Matisse désemparé par sa décision. Elle entre au noviciat, prend l’habit des dominicaines et reçoit le nom de Sœur Jacques-Marie. A Vence, les sœurs dominicaines n’avaient qu’un ancien garage délabré pour chapelle. Les sœurs avaient le projet de construire une chapelle. Sœur Jacques-Marie dessine un projet de vitrail représentant l’Assomption. Elle le montre à Matisse qui l’encourage à faire réaliser ce dessin en vitrail.

L’idée de la chapelle Matisse était née.

Henri Matisse et Soeur Jacques-Marie

« Je vais construire votre chapelle et je me charge des vitraux ! »

Henri MATISSE

L'autel et les vitraux de la chapelle Matisse, Vence (06)

LA CHAPELLE : DE L'ARCHITECTURE À LA DÉCORATION

L’extérieur de la chapelle, à la fois simple et discrète s’intègre parfaitement dans le paysage ensoleillé de Vence. La chapelle Matisse est reconnaissable par son toit de tuile blanche et bleue mais aussi par sa croix en fer forgé de treize mètres de haut, portant des croissants de lune et des flammes dorées.

L’intérieur de la chapelle est d’une pureté extrême et la magie opère. La lumière et les couleurs proviennent des vitraux jaunes, verts et bleus. Ces vitraux immenses inondent chaque jour de lumière les murs blanchis à la chaux. Trois grandes œuvres réalisées au trait noir sur des céramiques blanches décorent les murs de la chapelle. Seul le reflet des vitraux colore ces trois compositions : « Saint Dominique », « La Vierge et l’Enfant », et le « Chemin de Croix ».

Adjacente à la chapelle se trouve une galerie qui présente une riche collection des dessins préparatoires, ainsi que des modèles de chasuble spécialement conçus par Matisse pour la chapelle.

La vierge et l'enfant, Henri Matisse

« J’ai toujours essayé de dissimuler mes efforts, j’ai toujours souhaité que mes œuvres aient la légèreté et la gaité du printemps qui ne laisse jamais soupçonner le travail qu’il a coûté. »

Henri MATISSE

Henri Matisse dans la chapelle, Vence (06)

Dès la fin du confinement rendez-vous dans cette sublime Chapelle Matisse, 466 Avenue Henri Matisse, 06140 Vence. En bonus les musées Matisse de Nice et du Cateau-Cambrésis ont des salles dédiées aux dessins préparatoires (vitraux, des chasubles, fresques, etc) et aux maquettes de la Chapelle du Rosaire.

 

http://chapellematisse.com/

Merci à la chapelle MatisseVence, Musée Matisse de Nice, Musée Matisse du Cateau-Cambrésis

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône