THE 5 TREASURES TO DISCOVER AFTER CONFINEMENT

# 5 Le Cabanon du Corbusier and Villa E-1027 by Eileen Gray

ATHILIE in NiceMonday 11 MAY 2020 ESTIMATED READING TIME: 8 MINUTES

We decided to highlight 5 numbers on cult places to visit after the confinement between art, architecture and people through photos, videos unknown to the general public. This great adventure ends in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin and especially on the site of the Cap Moderne association, since 2018 the site has been classified as a national monument . We could have talked to you as in previous articles about a single construction.

At Athilie we are generous and for this last issue we have chosen to present you the 3 jewels of modern architecture, fruit of friendship, talent, daring and passion: the villa E-1027 of Eileen Gray and Jean Badovici , the Cabanon and the Le Corbusier and Étoile de Mer camping units .

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

VILLA E-1027: ICON OF MODERN ARCHITECTURE

 

Villa E-1027 is a seaside house, accessible only by the coastal path . Architect-decorator Eileen Gray and architect Jean Badovici offer us the perfect example of modern architecture of the 1930s. Eileen Gray supported by Jean Badovici began to work in 1942 on the study of a new project: the construction and decoration of a modern secondary house for Badovici. This project will allow the talented Eileen Gray to design all the furniture, fixed or mobile furniture inseparable from the villa, but also to learn about architecture.

The works began in 1926 as did the love story between Jean Badovici and Eileen Gray which inspired the name of the villa: E for Eileen, 10 for J de Jean (10th letter of the alphabet), 2 for the B of Badovici, 7 for the G of Gray. Their story inspired a film released in 2015: The Price of Desire .

Today the villa, its frescoes and its exteriors have been classified as historic monuments and obtained the Label "Heritage of the 20th century" .

 

In the photo below: the Transat armchair, the Bibendum armchair, the Monte-Carlo bench, the Rivoli table, the Centimeter carpet, the cork desk table, the dining room chairs .

La villa E-1027 et le mobilier d'Eileen Gray pour Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Villa E-1027 and Eileen Gray's furniture for Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

« When we see (...) these interiors where everything seems to respond to a strict and cold calculation (...), we wonder if man could be satisfied to stay there. (...) We had to (...) seek to create an interior atmosphere in harmony with the refinements of modern intimate life. »

Jean BADOVICI - From eclecticism to doubt.

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Villa E-1027 and Eileen Gray's furniture for Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

« Everyone, even in a small house, must be able to remain free, independent. He must feel like he is alone. » 

Eileen GRAY - From eclecticism to doubt.

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Villa E-1027 and Eileen Gray's furniture for Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

THE ARRIVAL OF CORBUSIER AND THOMAS REBUTATO

 

Eileen Gray left Jean Badovici and villa E-1027 in 1932. He remained in his villa until his death and she built his own house in Menton, the Tempe villa in Païa . Badovici will host Le Corbusier and his wife on several occasions. From 1938, Le Corbusier painted several frescoes on the walls of the villa, encouraged by Badovici but disapproved of by Eileen Gray. Frescoes that he himself restored after the war in 1949 and 1963.

In parallel with this story and right next to the villa, in 1949 Thomas Rebutato opened the Etoile de Mer , his first client was Le Corbusier, host of Badovici. In 1952, with the authorization of Rebutato, Le Corbusier installed his Cabanon on his property. The shed is glued and communicates through a door with the Etoile de Mer.

Thomas Rebutato derrière le bar de son Étoile de Mer, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)es-thomas_rebutato_l'éto

Thomas Rebutato behind the bar of his Étoile de Mer, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

THE SHED: MINIMUM CELL

 

The rustic-looking Corbusier shed , the pine-clad exterior walls contrast with the white of its modern architectural works. The Cabanon combines the spirit of the cabins with the functionalism of the modern architect . Everything is summarized in a square cell of 3.66 x 3.66 meters and 2.26 meters in height, measurements established from the Modulor . There is a sitting area, a working area, a bathroom area. Furniture side: a bed, a table, and some storage. Le Corbusier uses color to create a joyful sobriety. The Cabanon was pre-made in Corsica and then assembled on site. The exclusively wooden interior is lit by two small windows, one of them framed on the Mediterranean. Le Corbusier wants to live in harmony with nature and installs his shower outside the Cabanon.

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

The Cabanon of Le Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

“I have a castle on the Côte d'Azur, which is 3.66 meters by 3.66 meters. It's for my wife, it's extravagant in comfort and kindness. "

Le Corbusier

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

The Cabanon of Le Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

THE SHED: ERGONOMIC AND FUNCTIONAL

 

The Cabanon represents the culmination of research on the minimum cell. This subject is right at the heart of the concerns of modern architects of the 20th century and revives the myth of the primitive hut. The Cabanon, a hymn to sobriety, is a work of art, a manifesto of modern architecture recognized worldwide. The Cassina house has made two replicas of the shed which are regularly exhibited in museums. Le Corbusier did not stop there and built five camping units for the Rebutato family.

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le Corbusier camping units, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

CAMPING UNITS

 

Camping units   constitute the architectural work that Le Corbusier built in 1951 in exchange with the Rebutato family for the land where his Cabanon was placed a few meters away. The camping units use most of the construction principles of the Cabanon.

The longitudinal building is made up of a wooden structure housing the five units placed on reinforced concrete piles. These units are the result of the architect's research on a modular and economic leisure accommodation suitable for mass tourism. The units of 8m2 each can accommodate up to 2 people, a large bay inspired by modern architecture frames the sumptuous landscape of the Mediterranean.

These units have enabled the Rebutato to enrich their land and welcome tourists attracted by the calm and life by the sea.

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le Corbusier camping units, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

“Current architecture takes care of the house, the ordinary and everyday house for normal and everyday men. She drops the palates. This is a sign of the times. "

Le Corbusier

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le Corbusier camping units, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Villa E-1027 was then sold at auction and acquired in 1960 by a friend of Le Corbusier, at his request, to ensure its preservation.

Le Corbusier will end his days in his Cabanon in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, he dies of a heart attack during his daily swim in the Mediterranean and will be buried with his wife in the cemetery of Cap Martin after an official funeral at the Louvre.

Following the death of Le Corbusier, Thomas Rebutato built 3 small kitchens under the stilts of the Camping Units. When she died in 1971, Marguerite Rebutato kept the "sandwich bar" and continued to welcome tourists until 1984 in these small rooms.

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le Cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

At the end of confinement, go to this unique place, Avenue Le Corbusier
06190 Roquebrune Cap-Martin
. The visit organized by Cap Moderne is guided and includes all of these constructions. As a bonus after the visit, you will be able to go to Le Buse beach, while swimming in the Mediterranean, you will have a magnificent view of Villa E-1027, the Camping Units, the Starfish and the Cabanon.

https://capmoderne.com/fr

Thanks to Cap Moderne , the Center des monuments nationaux , Roquebrune-Cap-Martin , Fondation Le Corbusier , Manuel Bougot.

LES 5 TRÉSORS À DÉCOUVRIR APRÈS LE CONFINEMENT

#5 Le Cabanon du Corbusier et la Villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray

ATHILIE · Lundi 11 MAI 2020 · TEMPS DE LECTURE ESTIMÉ : 8 MINUTES

Nous avons décidé de mettre en lumière 5 numéros sur des lieux cultes à visiter après le confinement entre art, architecture et humain à travers des photos, des vidéos méconnues du grand public. Cette belle aventure se termine à Roquebrune-Cap-Martin et tout particulièrement sur le site de l’association Cap Moderne, depuis 2018 le site est classé aux monuments nationaux. Nous aurions pu vous parler comme dans les précédents articles d’une seule construction.

Chez Athilie nous sommes généreux et pour ce dernier numéro nous avons choisi de vous présenter les 3 joyaux de l’architecture moderne, fruit de l’amitié, du talent, de l’audace et de la passion : la villa E-1027 d’Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, le Cabanon et les unités de camping du Corbusier et l’Étoile de Mer.

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

VILLA E-1027 : ICÔNE DE L'ARCHITECTURE MODERNE

La villa E-1027 est une maison de bord de mer, accessible seulement par le sentier du littoral. L’architecte-décoratrice Eileen Gray et l’architecte Jean Badovici nous offrent l’exemple parfait de l’architecture moderne des années 1930. Eileen Gray épaulé par Jean Badovici commencent à travailler en 1942 sur l’étude d’un nouveau projet : la construction et la décoration d’une maison secondaire moderne pour Badovici. Ce projet va permettre à la talentueuse Eileen Gray de dessiner tous le mobilier, du mobilier fixe ou mobile indissociable de la villa, mais aussi de s’initier à l’architecture.

Les travaux commencent en 1926 tout comme l’histoire d’amour entre Jean Badovici et Eileen Gray qui va leur inspirer le nom de la villa : E pour Eileen, 10 pour le J de Jean (10e lettre de l'alphabet), 2 pour le B de Badovici, 7 pour le G de Gray. Leur histoire a inspiré un film sorti en 2015 : The Price of Desire.

Aujourd’hui la villa, ses fresques et ses extérieurs ont été classé au titre des monuments historiques et a obtenu le Label « Patrimoine du XXe siècle ».

 

Dans la photo ci-dessous : le fauteuil Transat, le fauteuil Bibendum, le banc Monte-Carlo, la table Rivoli, le tapis Centimètre, la table bureau en liège, les chaises de salle à manger.

La villa E-1027 et le mobilier d'Eileen Gray pour Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

La villa E-1027 et le mobilier d'Eileen Gray pour Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

« Quand on voit (...) ces intérieurs où tout semble répondre à un strict et froid calcul (...), on se demande si l'homme pourrait se satisfaire d'y demeurer. (...) Il fallait (...) chercher à créer une atmosphère intérieure en harmonie avec les raffinements de la vie intime moderne. »

Jean BADOVICI - De l'éclectisme au doute.

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

« Chacun, même dans une maison de dimension réduite, doit pouvoir rester libre, indépendant. Il doit avoir l'impression d'être seul. »

Eileen GRAY - De l'éclectisme au doute.

La villa E-1027 d'Eileen Gray et Jean Badovici, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

L’ARRIVÉE DU CORBUSIER ET DE THOMAS REBUTATO

Eileen Gray quitte Jean Badovici et la villa E-1027 en 1932. Lui restera dans sa villa jusqu’à sa mort et elle construira à Menton sa propre maison, la villa Tempe à Païa. Badovici accueillera a plusieurs reprises Le Corbusier et sa femme. À partir de 1938, Le Corbusier va peindre plusieurs fresques sur les murs de la villa, encouragé par Badovici mais désapprouvé par Eileen Gray. Fresques qu’il restaurera lui-même après la guerre en 1949 et 1963.

En parallèle de cette histoire et juste à côté de la villa, Thomas Rebutato ouvre en 1949 l’Étoile de Mer, son premier client c’est Le Corbusier, hôte de Badovici. En 1952, avec l’autorisation de Rebutato, Le Corbusier installe son Cabanon sur son terrain. Le cabanon est collé et communique par une porte avec l’Étoile de Mer.

Thomas Rebutato derrière le bar de son Étoile de Mer, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

LE CABANON : CELLULE MINIMUM

Le cabanon du Corbusier à l’aspect rustique, les murs extérieurs en bardage de pin tranche avec le blanc de ses œuvre architecturales modernes. Le Cabanon associe l’esprit des cabanes avec le fonctionnalisme de l’architecte moderne. Tout est résumé dans une cellule carrée de 3,66 x 3,66 mètres et de 2,26 mètres de hauteur, mesures établies à partir du Modulor. On retrouve un coin-repos, un coin-travail, un coin salle d’eau. Côté mobilier : un couchage, une table, et quelques rangements. Le Corbusier emploie la couleur pour créer une sobriété joyeuse. Le Cabanon a été pré-fabriqué en Corse puis assemblé sur place. L’intérieur exclusivement en bois, est éclairé par deux petites fenêtres, l’une d’elle cadrée sur la Méditerranée. Le Corbusier veut vivre en osmose avec la nature et installe sa douche à l’extérieur du Cabanon.

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

« J’ai un château sur la Côte d’Azur, qui a 3,66 mètres par 3,66 mètres. C’est pour ma femme, c’est extravagant de confort, de gentillesse. »

Le CORBUSIER

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

LE CABANON : ERGONOMIQUE ET FONCTIONNEL

Le Cabanon représente l’aboutissement d’une recherche sur la cellule minimum. Ce sujet est pile au cœur des préoccupations des architectes modernes du XXe siècle et renoue avec le mythe de la cabane primitive. Le Cabanon hymne à la sobriété est une œuvre d’art, un manifeste d’architecture moderne reconnu dans le monde entier. La maison Cassina a fait deux répliques du cabanon qui sont régulièrement exposés dans des musées. Le Corbusier ne s’arrête pas là et construit pour la famille Rebutato cinq unités de camping.

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

LES UNITÉS DE CAMPING

Les unités de camping constituent l’œuvre architecturale que Le Corbusier construit en 1951 en échange avec la famille Rebutato du terrain où fut placé son Cabanon à quelques mètres de là. Les unités de camping reprennent la plupart des principes de construction du Cabanon.

Le bâtiment longitudinal est composé d’une structure en bois abritant les cinq unités posées sur pilotis en béton armé. Ces unités sont le résultat des recherches de l’architecte sur un habitat de loisir modulaire et économique adapté au tourisme de masse. Les unités de 8m2 chacune peuvent loger jusqu’à 2 personnes, une grande baie inspirée de l’architecture moderne cadre le paysage somptueux de la Méditerranée.

Ces unités ont permis aux Rebutato d’enrichir leur terrain et d’accueillir des touristes attirés par le calme et la vie en bord de mer. 

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

« L'architecture actuelle s'occupe de la maison, de la maison ordinaire et courante pour hommes normaux et courants. Elle laisse tomber les palais. Voilà un signe des temps. »

Le CORBUSIER

Les unités de camping du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

La villa E-1027 sera ensuite vendue aux enchères et acquise en 1960 par une amie de Le Corbusier, à sa demande, pour en assurer la préservation.

Le Corbusier finira ses jours dans son Cabanon à Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, il décède d’une crise cardiaque lors de sa baignade quotidienne dans la Méditerranée et sera enterré avec sa femme au cimetière de Cap Martin après des obsèques officielles au Louvre.

Suite au décès du Corbusier, Thomas Rebutato construisit 3 petites cuisines sous les pilotis des Unités de Camping. À sa mort en 1971, Marguerite Rebutato conserva le « bar-sandwiches » et continue d’accueillir jusqu’en 1984 des touristes dans ces petites chambres.

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Le cabanon du Corbusier, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (06)

Dès la fin du confinement rendez-vous dans ce lieu unique, Avenue Le Corbusier
06190 Roquebrune Cap-Martin
. La visite organisée par Cap Moderne est guidée et inclut toutes ces constructions. En bonus après la visite vous pourrez aller sur la plage du Buse, en nageant dans la Méditerranée, vous aurez une magnifique vue sur la villa E-1027, les Unités de camping, l’Étoile de mer et le Cabanon.

https://capmoderne.com/fr

Merci à Cap Moderne, le Centre des monuments nationaux, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, Fondation Le Corbusier, Manuel Bougot.

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône