THE 5 TREASURES TO DISCOVER AFTER CONFINEMENT

# 2 Villa Kérylos

As I write these words, summer vacation seems uncertain.

Is your trip to Mykonos canceled? At Athilie we offer you a solution: Greece in France.

We decided to highlight 5 numbers on cult places to visit that combine art, architecture and people through photos, testimonies, videos too little known by the general public.

 

Here is an invitation to contemplation: The Villa Kérylos in Beaulieu-sur-Mer in the Alpes-Maritimes (06).

Villa Kérylos, Beaulieu-sur-Mer

Villa Kérylos, Beaulieu-sur-Mer

VILLA KÉRYLOS: THE SWALLOW OF THE SEA

 

Villa Kérylos is a unique house in France built and furnished between 1902 and 1908 on the model of the villas of ancient Greece and especially on those of the nobles of the Island of Delos (now uninhabited) for the archaeologist and specialist in the Hellenistic period , Théodore Reinach (1860-1928). The Villa Kérylos is not a simple reproduction but a reinterpretation of ancient Greece by Théodore Reinach and Emmanuel Pontremoli . Kérylos means "sea swallow", poetic bird of mythology, which announced a sweet omen. When Théodore Reinach died in 1928, the villa was bequeathed to the I nstitut de France .

Séjour de la Villa Kérylos

Living room of Villa Kérylos

"Is Villa Kérylos the work of a dreamer or the fantasy of a wealthy man?" It was, rather, the realization and accomplishment of what represented for my grandfather the very essence of a civilization with an essentially human face, like that among the Greeks of their gods and their Art. "

Fabrice REINACH

Péristyle de la Villa Kérylos

Peristyle of Villa Kérylos

THE ARCHITECTURE OF THE DREAM

 

The construction and layout of Villa Kérylos lasted five years thanks to the friendship and close collaboration between the Nice architect Emmanuel Pontremoli and Théodore Reinach.

The construction of the villa has two major architectural challenges: on the one hand, the reconstruction of a Greek house. On the other hand, it is a living, functional house which responds positively to the new technologies of its time.

The villa born on the pointe des Fourmis, ideally located between Cap Ferrat and the Rocher de Monaco. At the beginning of the century it was a fishing village which evokes certain landscapes of Greece. The villa is open to the sea, the mountain, the rocky peninsulas and the sun all year round.

Bibliothèque de la Villa Kérylos

Library of Villa Kérylos

"If life in Ancient Greece, its customs, its customs coincided so little with ours, the Greek Spirit is contradictory, neither with life, nor with the habits of our time. "

Emmanuel PONTREMOLI

Péristyle de la Villa Kérylos

Peristyle of Villa Kérylos

AN ORIGINAL WORK: GREECE IN FRANCE

 

For Théodore Reinach and Emmanuel Pontremoli the challenge is not to copy but to create from the Greek model an original work.

The villa perfectly combines ancient luxury and modern comfort. The architect Pontremoli uses precious materials (antique stucco, Carrara marble and exotic wood for the furniture) which makes the decoration sumptuous.

The villa has many mosaics and frescoes inspired, studied and made from famous scenes, illustrating the great legends of the ancient gods.

The villa is organized around the peristyle , a gallery of 12 columns in Carrara marble that surround the interior courtyard. On the ground floor of the villa are the lounges, dining room, library and thermal baths, while the bedrooms and private bathrooms are located upstairs.

Thermes de la Villa Kerylos

Villa Kerylos thermal baths

A HOUSE: FROM TEMPLE TO VILLA

 

One of the biggest constraints for the architect is to add to the authenticity of his ancient architectural work the necessary amenities: heating, electricity, sanitary, bedding ... so that the villa can be comfortable and habitable.

 

All of the amenities have been hidden to the maximum of the reconstruction and have been designed with ingenuity, either because invisible, like the heating provided by inlaid openings and hidden by grids on the floor in the mosaic. Either because a Greek touch is kept as for electricity where chandeliers and sconces are inspired by Byzantine mosque lamps or the bulbs integrated directly into the mosaics.

 

Salle de bain de la Villa Kérylos

Villa Kérylos bathroom

"I want to pay Théodore Reinach a tribute all the more moved because he was able, in a touching way, to show the price he attached to Kérylos, by instructing the Institut de France to now shelter this house of any infringement. "

Emmanuel PONTREMOLI

Vue mer Villa Kérylos

Sea view Villa Kérylos

As soon as the confinement ends, meet in this breathtaking Villa Kérylos, Impasse Gustave Eiffel, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer.

As a bonus you will be able to see the old villa of Gustave Eiffel next to Kérylos.

 

http://www.villakerylos.fr/

 

Thanks to Villa Kérylos , the Center des monuments nationaux , Editions du Patrimoine , Institut de France , Le Rêve by Théodore Reinach. Life in Kérylos from its construction in the Museum , Romain Laprade.

LES 5 TRÉSORS À DÉCOUVRIR APRÈS LE CONFINEMENT

#2 La Villa Kérylos

À l’heure où je vous écris ces mots, les vacances d’été semblent incertaines.

Votre voyage à Mykonos est annulé ? Chez Athilie nous vous proposons une solution : la Grèce en France.

Nous avons décidé de mettre en lumière 5 numéros sur des lieux cultes à visiter qui allient art, architecture et humain à travers des photos, des témoignages, des vidéos trop méconnues du grand public.

 

Voici une invitation à la contemplation : La Villa Kérylos à Beaulieu-sur-Mer dans les Alpes-Maritimes (06).

Villa Kérylos, Beaulieu-sur-Mer

LA VILLA KÉRYLOS : L'HIRONDELLE DE MER

La Villa Kérylos est une habitation unique en France construite et meublée entre 1902 et 1908 sur le modèle des villas de la Grèce antique et tout particulièrement sur celles des nobles de lle de Délos (aujourd’hui inhabitée) pour l'archéologue et spécialiste de l'époque hellénistique, Théodore Reinach (1860-1928). La villa Kérylos n'est pas une simple reproduction mais une réinterprétation de la Grèce antique par Théodore Reinach et Emmanuel Pontremoli. Kérylos signifie « hirondelle de mer », oiseau poétique de la mythologie, qui annonçait un doux présage. À la mort de Théodore Reinach en 1928, la villa est léguée à l'Institut de France.

Séjour de la Villa Kérylos

« La Villa Kérylos est-elle l'œuvre d'un rêveur ou la fantaisie d'un homme fortuné ? Ce fut, plutôt, la réalisation et l'accomplissement de ce que représentait pour mon grand père l'essence même d'une civilisation au visage essentiellement humain, comme celui chez les Grecs de leurs dieux et de leur Art. »

Fabrice REINACH

Péristyle de la Villa Kérylos

Péristyle de la Villa Kérylos

L’ARCHITECTURE DU RÊVE

La construction et l’aménagement de la Villa Kérylos durent cinq années grâce à l’amitié et à l’étroite collaboration entre l’architecte niçois Emmanuel Pontremoli et Théodore Reinach.

La construction de la villa a deux grands enjeux architecturaux : d’une part la reconstitution d'une maison grecque. D'autre part être une maison vivante, fonctionnelle et qui réponde positivement aux nouvelles technologies de son époque.

La villa née sur la pointe des Fourmis, idéalement située entre le Cap Ferrat et le Rocher de Monaco. Au début du siècle c'était un village de pêcheurs qui évoque certains paysages de la Grèce. La villa est ouverte sur la mer, la montagne, les presqu'îles rocheuses et le soleil toute l’année.

Bibliothèque de la Villa Kérylos

« Si la vie dans la Grèce Antique, ses mœurs, ses coutumes coïncidaient si peu avec les nôtres, l'Esprit grec n'est contradictoire, ni avec la vie, ni avec les habitudes de notre temps. »

Emmanuel PONTREMOLI

Péristyle de la Villa Kérylos

UNE ŒUVRE ORIGINALE : LA GRÈCE EN FRANCE

Pour Théodore Reinach et Emmanuel Pontremoli l’enjeu est de ne pas copier mais de créer à partir du modèle grec une œuvre originale.

La villa associe à la perfection luxe antique et confort moderne. L’architecte Pontremoli emploi des matériaux précieux (stucs à l'antique, marbres de Carrare et bois exotiques pour le mobilier) qui rend la décoration somptueuse.

La villa compte de nombreuses mosaïques et fresques inspirées, étudiées et fabriquées à partir de scènes célèbres, illustrant les grandes légendes des dieux antiques.

La villa s'organise autour du péristyle, galerie de 12 colonnes en marbre de Carrare qui entourent la cour intérieur. Au rez-de-chaussée de la villa se trouvent les salons, salle à manger, bibliothèque et thermes, tandis que les chambres et salles de bains privées se situent à l'étage.

Thermes de la Villa Kerylos

UNE MAISON D'HABITATION : DU TEMPLE À LA VILLA

Une des plus grandes contraintes pour l’architecte est d’ajouter à l’authenticité de son oeuvre architecturale antique les commodités nécessaires : chauffage, électricité, sanitaire, literie... pour que la villa puisse être confortable et habitable.

 

L’ensemble des commodités a été dissimulé au maximum de la reconstitution et a été conçu avec ingéniosité, soit parce qu'invisible, comme le chauffage assuré par des ouvertures incrustées et dissimulées par des grilles au sol dans la mosaïque. Soit parce qu'une touche grecque est conservée comme pour l’électricité où lustres et appliques sont inspirées des lampes de mosquée byzantine ou encore les ampoules intégrées directement aux mosaïques.

Salle de bain de la Villa Kérylos

« Je veux rendre à Théodore Reinach un hommage d'autant plus ému qu'il a su, de touchante façon, montrer le prix qu'il attachait à Kérylos, en chargeant l'Institut de France de mettre désormais cette demeure à l'abri de toute atteinte. »

Emmanuel PONTREMOLI

Vue mer Villa Kérylos

Dès la fin du confinement rendez-vous dans cette époustouflante Villa Kérylos, Impasse Gustave Eiffel, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer.

En bonus vous pourrez apercevoir l’ancienne villa de Gustave Eiffel voisine de Kérylos.

http://www.villakerylos.fr/

Merci à Villa Kérylos, le Centre des monuments nationaux, Editions du patrimoine, Institut de France, Le Rêve de Théodore Reinach. La vie à Kérylos de sa construction au Musée, Romain Laprade.

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône