THE 5 TREASURES TO DISCOVER AFTER CONFINEMENT

# 3 The Bernard House

ATHILIE in Nice Thursday, APRIL 30, 2020 ESTIMATED READING TIME: 7 MINUTES

We could have told you about the Palais Bulles known worldwide thanks to the designer Pierre Cardin (who bought it in 1992 following the death of Pierre Bernard) and which remains prohibited to the general public.

At Athilie we have rather chosen to tell you about the origin of Antti Lovag's bubble houses , his meeting, his story of friendship with Pierre Bernard .

Both free and adventurous men. Far from conventions and architectural standardization but closer to human needs and well-being, the philosophy and architecture of Antti Lovag has never been so current in the period we are going through.

We decided to highlight 5 numbers on cult places to visit after confinement that combine art, architecture and people through photos, testimonies, videos too little known by the general public.

 

This great adventure begins in Théoule-sur-Mer and especially in Port-La-Galère with the bubble house: La Maison Bernard .

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

BERNARD HOUSE: WONDERFUL BULLE HOUSE

 

Originally, there is a place and a landscape with which Pierre Bernard, a wealthy industrialist, falls in love: the Estérel massif, the endless Mediterranean, the bay of Cannes and the Lérins Islands . He acquired land with a project: to build a holiday home for his family of three children.

He meets by chance during a dinner the architect and habitologist Antti Lovag . Family legend has it that Lovag shattered his initial project by brutally putting it down on his architectural choice. The provocation of departure will seal the beginning of a long friendship and a wonderful adventure: The first Bulle house by Pierre Bernard.

An original design and a masterpiece of architecture from the end of the 20th century. This house was thought and built totally tailor-made in the 70s by putting people at the center, their living space and their needs. Each bubble represents a room in the house and is reminiscent of the mother's womb.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

"My conditions: I don't know how long it will last, I don't know what it will be and I don't know how much it will cost. "

Antti LOVAG

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

PIERRE BERNARD THE FRIEND AND SPONSOR

 

Pierre Bernard will give Antti Lovag the means to carry out his ideas and develop his habitologist architect art for twenty years. This extraordinary creation has no deadlines or budget. Pierre Bernard gives Antti Lovag the opportunity to freely experiment with materials, implantation and develop innovative construction techniques from the concrete veil. It was during these years and thanks to Pierre Bernard that he developed his own architectural identity. At the end of the construction of Maison Bernard, neither wanted to end the adventure. They then embark on the construction of the Observatory of the Côte d'Azur in Caussols and then in the construction of a new house which will be acquired by Pierre Cardin on the death of Pierre Bernard: Le Palais Bulles , which welcomes only private events such as haute couture parades : Dior .

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

“I've always worked with adventurers who wanted something that didn't exist. "

Antti LOVAG

Antti Lovag et Pierre Bernard

Antti Lovag and Pierre Bernard

ANTTI LOVAG, THE NON-CONFORMIST HABITOLOGIST

 

Born in 1920 in Hungary, Antti Lovag moved to France in 1947. He first collaborated with Jean Prouvé then Jacques Couëlle one of the first architects (totally on the fringes of major architectural movements such as modern architecture) to develop l organic and troglodyte architecture-sculpture in France. They will experiment together the construction of hulls and bubbles. This collaboration is decisive for the rest of the entire work of Antti Lovag.

He designs spaces of freedom where the unnatural right angle has no place and where roundness is king.

Antti Lovag lives on his construction sites, studies the surrounding nature and its specificities to design the house. It is the house that adapts to the land and nature, not the other way around. The house begins to emerge from the ground by means of a metal frame which makes it possible to visualize the interior spaces and to foresee future openings on the sky, the sea and the vegetation. Then a concrete veil is projected onto the metal structure. Maison Bernard is undoubtedly one of the most successful examples of the organic architecture of Antti Lovag.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

"Architecture does not interest me. It is man, the human space which creates an envelope around the needs of man. "

Antti LOVAG

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

WHAT FUTURE FOR BERNARD HOUSE?

 

The heirs of Maison Bernard have created the Maison Bernard endowment fund, the mission of which is to protect and ensure the sustainability of the architectural work of Antti Lovag produced with Pierre Bernard in Théoule sur Mer in the 1970s. endowment fund Maison Bernard is also responsible for the promotion and accessibility to the public of Lovag's work. The house now offers guided tours in small groups and by appointment every Tuesday from October to April. Finally, the Maison Bernard endowment fund welcomes each year a new artist in residence. The chosen artist realizes an original work in adequacy with the architecture of the house and its environment. The works are intended to be presented “in situ” permanently.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

“After the disappearance of our father, the question arose of the future of the house. Faced with this achievement, it was up to us to take up the challenge, to continue the adventure in our own way. The first objective is to perpetuate their work, open it to the public and facilitate the study of the architecture of Antti Lovag. The second objective is to preserve the identity of the house and to ensure that it remains a place of creation. "

Isabelle and Jean-Patrice BERNARD

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

At the end of confinement, go to this incredible Maison Bernard, Port-La-Galère 06590 Théoule-sur-Mer. As a bonus you will discover the sculpture and cave buildings of Jacques Couëlle which make the identity of Port-La-Galère.

 

http://fonds-maisonbernard.com/fr/

 

Thanks to Maison Bernard , Théoule-sur-Mer , Studio Odile Decq , Pierre Cardin , Palais Bulles .

LES 5 TRÉSORS À DÉCOUVRIR APRÈS LE CONFINEMENT

#3 La Maison Bernard

ATHILIE · Jeudi 30 AVRIL 2020 · TEMPS DE LECTURE ESTIMÉ : 7 MINUTES

Nous aurions pu vous parler du Palais Bulles mondialement connu grâce au couturier Pierre Cardin (qui l’a racheté en 1992 suite à la mort de Pierre Bernard) et qui demeure interdit au grand public.

Chez Athilie on a plutôt choisi de vous raconter l’origine des maisons bulles d’Antti Lovag, sa rencontre, son histoire d’amitié avec Pierre Bernard.

Tous deux des hommes libres et aventuriers. Loin des conventions et de la standardisation architecturale mais au plus près des besoins et du bien-être de l’homme, la philosophie et l’architecture d’Antti Lovag n’a jamais été aussi actuelle dans la période que nous traversons.

Nous avons décidé de mettre en lumière 5 numéros sur des lieux cultes à visiter après le confinement qui allient art, architecture et humain à travers des photos, des témoignages, des vidéos trop méconnues du grand public.

 

Cette belle aventure commence à Théoule-sur-Mer et tout particulièrement à Port-La-Galère avec la maison bulle : La Maison Bernard.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

MAISON BERNARD : MERVEILLEUSE MAISON BULLE

À l’origine, il y a un lieu et un paysage dont Pierre Bernard riche industriel tombe amoureux : le massif de l’Estérel, la Méditerranée infinie, la baie de Cannes et les îles de Lérins. Il acquiert un terrain avec un projet : construire une maison de vacances pour sa famille de trois enfants.

Il rencontre par hasard lors d’un diner l’architecte et habitologue Antti Lovag. La légende familiale veut que Lovag ait fait voler en éclat son projet initial en l’apostrophant brutalement sur son choix architectural. La provocation de départ va sceller le début d’une longue amitié et d’une merveilleuse aventure : La première maison Bulle de Pierre Bernard.

Une conception inédite et un chef d’oeuvre de l’architecture de la fin du XXème siècle. Cette maison a été pensée et construite totalement sur-mesure dans les années 70 en mettant l’homme au centre, son espace de vie et ses besoins. Chaque bulle représente une pièce de la maison et non sans rappeler le ventre maternel.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

« Mes conditions : Je ne sais pas combien de temps ça va durer, je ne sais pas ce que cela va être et je ne sais pas combien cela va coûter. »

Antti LOVAG

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

PIERRE BERNARD L'AMI ET MÉCÈNE

Pierre Bernard donnera pendant vingt ans à Antti Lovag les moyens de réaliser ses idées et de développer son art d’architecte habitologue. Cette création extraordinaire n’a ni délais ni budget. Pierre Bernard laisse l’opportunité à Antti Lovag d’expérimenter librement matériaux, implantation et mettre au point des techniques de construction innovantes à partir du voile de béton. C’est durant ces années et grâce à Pierre Bernard qu’il développe sa propre identité architecturale. À la fin de la construction de la Maison Bernard, ni l’un ni l’autre ne veulent terminer l’aventure. Ils se lancent alors dans la construction de l’Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur à Caussols puis ensuite dans la construction d’une nouvelle maison qui sera acquise par Pierre Cardin à la mort de Pierre Bernard : Le Palais Bulles, qui accueille uniquement des évènements privés comme des défilés de haute couture : Dior.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

« J’ai toujours travaillé avec des aventuriers qui voulaient quelque chose qui n’existait pas. »

Antti LOVAG

Antti Lovag et Pierre Bernard

ANTTI LOVAG, L'HABITOLOGUE ANTICONFORMISTE

Né en 1920 en Hongrie, Antti Lovag s’installe en France en 1947. Il va collaborer dans un premier temps avec Jean Prouvé puis Jacques Couëlle un des premiers architectes (totalement en marge des grands mouvement architecturaux comme l’architecture moderne) à développer l’architecture-sculpture organique et troglodytique en France. Ils expérimenteront ensemble la construction de coques et bulles. Cette collaboration est déterminante pour la suite de l’ensemble de l’oeuvre d’Antti Lovag.

Il conçoit des espaces de liberté où l’angle droit peu naturel n’a pas sa place et où les rondeurs sont reines.

Antti Lovag vit sur ses chantiers, étudie la nature environnante et ses spécificités pour concevoir la maison. C’est la maison qui s’adapte au terrain et à la nature, pas l’inverse. La maison commence à sortir de terre par le biais d’une armature métallique qui permet de visualiser les espaces intérieurs et de prévoir les futures ouvertures sur le ciel, la mer et la végétation. Puis un voile de béton est projeté sur la structure métallique. La Maison Bernard est sans doute un des exemples les plus aboutis de l’architecture organique d’Antti Lovag.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

« L’ architecture ne m’intéresse pas. C’est l’homme, l’espace humain qui créer une enveloppe autour des besoins de l’homme. »

Antti LOVAG

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

QUEL AVENIR POUR LA MAISON BERNARD ?

Les héritiers de la Maison Bernard ont créé le fonds de dotation Maison Bernard qui a pour mission de protéger et d’assurer la pérennité de l’œuvre architecturale d’ Antti Lovag réalisée avec Pierre Bernard à Théoule sur Mer au cours des années 1970. Le fonds de dotation Maison Bernard s’occupe également de la promotion et l’accessibilité au public de l’œuvre de Lovag. La maison vous propose désormais des visites guidées en petit comité et sur rendez-vous tous les mardis d’octobre à avril. Enfin, le fonds de dotation Maison Bernard permet d’accueillir chaque année un nouvel artiste en résidence. L’artiste choisi réalise une oeuvre originale en adéquation avec l’architecture de la maison et son environnement. Les oeuvres sont destinées à être présentées “in situ” de façon permanente.

La Maison Bernard, Théoule-sur-Mer

« Après la disparition de notre père, s’est posée la question du devenir de la maison. Face à cette réalisation, il nous appartenait d’abord de relever le défi, de poursuivre l’aventure à notre façon. Le premier objectif est de pérenniser leur oeuvre, l’ouvrir au public et faciliter l’étude de l’architecture d’Antti Lovag. Le deuxième objectif est de conserver l’identité de la maison et faire en sorte qu’elle reste un lieu de création. »

Isabelle et Jean-Patrice BERNARD

Dès la fin du confinement rendez-vous dans cette incroyable Maison Bernard, Port-La-Galère 06590 Théoule-sur-Mer. En bonus vous découvrirez les immeubles sculptures et troglodytiques de Jacques Couëlle qui font l’identité de Port-La-Galère.

 

http://fonds-maisonbernard.com/fr/

Merci à la Maison BernardThéoule-sur-Mer, Studio Odile Decq, Pierre Cardin, le Palais Bulles.

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône