To speak of architecture is to speak of life. That of the cities, that of the people who live there. It's talking about history. Old and recent. Big and small.

Le château de l'anglais, Nice, 1858

“It's kind of a pure fantasy. From the time of its creation, it was quite far from the city center. The access roads were not the same as they are today and the building overlooked a vast hill that was not built. "

Charles Bilas

l'église Sainte Jeanne d'Arc, Nice, 1933

In 1913 it was decided to build a church on this site. The first stone was laid in 1914 and the foundations and a crypt were built under the supervision of the Nice architect Castel. The latter's death and the First World War led to the abandonment of the work. In 1926, construction resumed following the plans of the Parisian architect Jacques Droz . It was completed in 1933. The use of the reinforced concrete veil technique, recent at that time, allowed a futuristic style construction, influenced by Art Nouveau.

Le Gloria Mansions, Nice, 1934

The Gloria Mansions, Nice, 1934

“I clicked when I pushed the door of the Gloria Mansions. The discovery of the colorful concrete hall was a revelation, a real love at first sight. "

Roberte Dallo

Le Palais Bulle, Théoule-Sur-Mer, 1989

Le Palais Bulle, Théoule-Sur-Mer, 1989

Work of art nestled in the foothills of the Estérel which it adopts the colors. Floating above the sea, the bubbles of the architect Antti Lovag are inspired by the troglodyte habitat. Everything, from floor to ceiling, from outside to inside, follows spherical shapes. True ode to beauty, flexibility, harmony and balance.

Fondation Maeght, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, 1964

Maeght Foundation, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, 1964

The Maeght Foundation is an exhibition space for modern and contemporary art. Modernist architect Josep Lluís Sert reinterprets Mediterranean codes: whiteness, earth, patios ... The lighting is natural and indirect, conducive to contemplation. Environmentally friendly, they installed the first heat pump in France and fed the basins with rainwater collected through impluvium roofs.

Villa Santo Sospir, Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, 1935

Villa Santo Sospir, Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, 1935

To keep busy, Jean Cocteau asked his hostess if he could draw an Apollo's head above a fireplace in the living room. He will draw murals throughout the house.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

“The Côte d'Azur is the greenhouse where the roots grow. Paris is the shop where the flowers are sold. "

Jean Cocteau

La Villa E-1027, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1929

Villa E-1027, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1929

A true icon of modern architecture, villa E-1027 , the first architectural creation of Eileen Gray in collaboration with her companion Jean Badovici , testifies to her careful consideration in the design of every detail. It has a manifesto value, both for the architecture itself and for the fixed and mobile furniture, the lighting and the decorations which are inseparable from it.

Le Cabanon, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1951

Le Cabanon, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1951

The Cabanon is the archetype of the minimum cell, based on an ergonomic and functionalist approach. Le Corbusier loved the Mediterranean Sea, its light, its landscapes and its rural architecture. The architect, who died in the waves of Cabbé beach in 1965, rests in the cemetery of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

"The house should be the treasure chest of life"

Le Corbusier

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Sources: Nice Matin , Cap Moderne , Elle Décoration .

Parler d’architecture, c’est parler de vie. Celle des villes, celle des gens qui y vivent. C’est parler d’histoire. Ancienne et récente. Grande et petite.

Le château de l'anglais, Nice, 1858

Le Château de l'Anglais, Nice, 1858

« C’est une sorte de pur fantasme. Du temps de sa création, il se trouvait assez loin du centre-ville. Les chemins d’accès n’étaient pas les mêmes qu’aujourd’hui et le bâtiment surplombait une vaste colline qui n’était pas bâtie. »

Charles Bilas

l'église Sainte Jeanne d'Arc, Nice, 1933

L'église Sainte Jeanne d'Arc, Nice, 1933

Dès 1913 fut décidée la construction d'une église à cet emplacement. La première pierre fut posée en 1914 et l'on bâtit les fondations et une crypte sous la conduite de l'architecte niçois Castel. La mort de ce dernier et la Première Guerre mondiale entraînèrent l'abandon des travaux. En 1926, la construction reprit suivant les plans de l'architecte parisien Jacques Droz. Elle s'acheva en 1933. L'utilisation de la technique du voile de béton armé, récente à cette époque, a permis une construction de style futuriste, influencée par l'Art nouveau.

Le Gloria Mansions, Nice, 1934

Le Gloria Mansions, Nice, 1934

« J’ai eu le déclic en poussant la porte du Gloria Mansions. La découverte du hall en béton coloré a été une révélation, un véritable coup de foudre. »

Roberte Dallo

Le Palais Bulle, Théoule-Sur-Mer, 1989

Le Palais Bulle, Théoule-Sur-Mer, 1989

Oeuvre d’art lovée dans les contreforts de l’Estérel dont elle adopte les couleurs. Flottant au-dessus de la mer les bulles de l’architecte Antti Lovag s’inspirent de l'habitat troglodyte. Tout, du sol au plafond, du dehors au dedans, épouse des formes sphériques. Véritable ode à la beauté, la souplesse, l'harmonie et l'équilibre.

Fondation Maeght, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, 1964

Fondation Maeght, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, 1964

La Fondation Maeght est un lieu d’exposition d'art moderne et contemporain. L’architecte moderniste Josep Lluís Sert, réinterprète les codes méditerranéen : la blancheur, la terre, les patios... L’éclairage est naturel et indirect propice à la contemplation. Écolos, ils firent installer la première pompe à chaleur de France et alimentèrent les bassins par l’eau de pluie récupérée grâce aux toits en impluvium.

Villa Santo Sospir, Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, 1935

Villa Santo Sospir, Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, 1935

Pour s'occuper, Jean Cocteau demanda à son hôtesse s'il pouvait dessiner une tête d'Apollon au-dessus d'une cheminée du salon. Il dessinera des fresques murales dans toute la maison.

« La Côte d'Azur est la serre où poussent les racines. Paris est la boutique où on vend les fleurs. »

Jean Cocteau

La Villa E-1027, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1929

La Villa E-1027, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1929

Véritable icône de l’architecture moderne, la villa E-1027, première création architecturale d’Eileen Gray en collaboration avec son compagnon Jean Badovici, témoigne de sa réflexion attentive dans le dessin de chaque détail. Elle a valeur de manifeste, tant pour l’architecture elle-même que pour les meubles fixes et mobiles, les luminaires et les décors qui en sont indissociables. 

Le Cabanon, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1951

Le Cabanon, Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, 1951

Le Cabanon est l’archétype de la cellule minimum, fondée sur une approche ergonomique et fonctionnaliste. Le Corbusier aimait la mer Méditerranée, sa lumière, ses paysages et ses architectures rurales. L’architecte, qui mourra dans les vagues de la plage de Cabbé en 1965, repose au cimetière de Roquebrune-Cap-Martin. 

« La maison devrait être le coffre au trésor de la vie »

Le Corbusier

Sources : Nice Matin, Cap Moderne, Elle Décoration.

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône